HEAVEN – Viessmann

Modulating brine heat pump with multi-source system and decentralised ventilation units

Funding code: 03ET1540 A/B

Funding period: 01/2018 until 12/2020

Project partners: Fraunhofer ISE, Viessmann Wärmepumpen GmbH

 

Objectives

  • Development of a functional model of a modulation brine heat pump for the addressed performance range as well as dimensioning and operating strategies for a multi-source system integrating ground and outside air
  • Optimisation of the apartment and room regulations of decentralised ventilation units as well as the development of an evaluation method and of a test stand for the combined examination of energetic performance and ventilation efficiency
  • Development of a functional model for an energy-efficient and low-noise decentralised ventilation unit with coaxial heat exchangers

 

Technology

Because of the small usable surrounding surface in urban areas the trend is towards outside air as a heat source, which is comparatively inefficient and subject to the requirements of TA Lärm. In work package 1 the advantages of both sources outside air and ground should be exploited and a modulation brine heat pump should be developed in the addressed performance range.

The decentralised domestic ventilation can play a key role in the energetic renovation of multi-family houses (a.o. no pipe network) and a demand-driven control offers considerable energy-saving potential. In work package 2 the control of decentralised ventilation units is therefore optimised and an adapted method for assessing these units is developed. Moreover, the requirements on ventilation units, such as compactness, heat recovery and noise generation, are continuously increasing and should be met by means of a coaxial heat exchanger in work package 3.

 

Top left: Schematic structure of the heat pump heating unit (work package 1); top right: draft test chamber design for the combined evaluation of decentralised ventilation units (work package 2); below: cross-section illustrating the planed geometry of the coaxial heat exchanger and picture of a 3D-printing (work package 3)

Work plan

  • Modulating brine heat pump and combined heat sources
  • Optimisation and assessment of domestic ventilation
  • Decentralised ventilation unit with coaxial heat exchanger and energy-efficient axial fans

The tasks of the project range from the conception work to the experimental assessment and simulation of components and systems to the development of assessing methods and the demonstration (work package 1 and 2) of the new development in the field.

Contact persons

Danny Günther
Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE
Department Energy-efficient buildings
+49 (0)761/ 4588-5371
guenther@ise.fraunhofer.de

Jan-Heiner Kröger
Viessmann Wärmepumpen GmbH
Advance Engineering and Control Strategy Development
+49 (0)6452 70-806554
kegj@viessmann.com

Downloads

Poster HEAVEN

HEAVEN – Viessmann

Modulierende Sole-Wärmepumpe mit Mehrquellensystem und dezentrale Lüftungsanlagen

Förderkennzeichen: 03ET1540 A/B

Laufzeit: 01/2018 bis 12/2020

Projektpartner: Fraunhofer ISE, Viessmann Wärmepumpen GmbH

Ziele

  • Entwicklung eines Funktionsmusters einer leistungsmodulierenden Sole-Wärmepumpe für den adressierten Leistungsbereich sowie von Dimensionierungs- und Betriebsstrategien für ein Mehrquellensystem zur Einbindung des Erdreiches und der Außenluft
  • Optimierung der wohnungs- und raumweisen Regelung von dezentralen Lüftungsgeräten sowie die Entwicklung einer Bewertungsmethode und eines Teststandes für die kombinierte Betrachtung von energetischer Performance und Lüftungseffektivität
  • Entwicklung eines Funktionsmusters für ein energieeffizientes und geräuscharmes dezentrales Lüftungsgerät mit Koaxialwärmetauscher

Technologie

Aufgrund der geringen nutzbaren Umgebungsfläche im innerstädtischen Bereich geht der Trend zur Wärmequelle Außenluft, die vergleichsweise ineffizient ist und den Auflagen der TA Lärm unterliegt. In AP1 sollen die Vorteile der beiden Wärmequellen Außenluft und Erdreich nutzbar gemacht und ferner eine leistungsmodulierende Sole-Wärmepumpe im adressierten Leistungsbereich entwickelt werden.

Der dezentralen Wohnraumlüftung kann eine Schlüsselrolle in der MFH-Sanierung zukommen (u.a. kein Kanalnetz) und eine bedarfsgeführte Regelung verspricht erhebliche Energieeinsparpotenziale. In AP2 wird daher die Regelung von dezentralen Lüftungsgeräten optimiert und eine geeignete Methode zur Bewertung dieser Geräte entwickelt. Darüber hinaus steigen die Anforderungen  an dezentrale Lüftungsgeräte, wie Kompaktheit, Wärmerückgewinnung und Geräuschentwicklung, stetig. In AP3 soll diesen Anforderungen mittels Einsatz eines Koaxial-Wärmeübertragers begegnet werden.

Oben links: Schematischer Aufbau der Wärmepumpenheizungsanlage mit kombinierter Wärmequelle (AP1); oben rechts: Entwurf eines Testkammeraufbaus zur kombinierten Bewertung dezentraler Lüftungsgeräte (AP2); unten: Querschnitte zur Erläuterung der geplanten Geometrie des Koaxial-Wärmeübertragers und Foto eines 3-Druckes (AP3)

Arbeitsplan

  • Modulierende Sole-Wärmepumpe und kombinierte Wärmequellen
  • Optimierung und Bewertung von Wohnungslüftung
  • Dezentrales Lüftungsgerät mit Koaxialwärmetauscher und energieeffizienten Axiallüftern

Die Aufgaben im Projekt reichen von der konzeptionellen Arbeit über die experimentelle Bewertung und Simulation von Komponenten und Systemen bis hin zur Entwicklung von Bewertungsmethoden und der Demonstration (AP1 und AP2) der Neuentwicklung im Feld

Ansprechpartner

Danny Günther
Fraunhofer-Institut für Solare Energiesysteme ISE
Abteilung Energieeffiziente Gebäude
+49 (0)761/ 4588-5371
guenther@ise.fraunhofer.de

Jan-Heiner Kröger
Viessmann Wärmepumpen GmbH
Advance Engineering and Control Strategy Development
+49 (0)6452 70-806554
kegj@viessmann.com

Downloads

Poster HEAVEN