HTWP – Bosch

Development of heat pump solutions for multi-family houses

Funding code: 03ET1377 A/B/C

Funding period: 01.01.2016 until 30.11.2021

Project partner: Fraunhofer ISE, Bosch Thermotechnik, Robert Bosch GmbH

 

Objectives

Development of two heat pump solutions for multi-family houses:

  • A bivalent system, consisting of an electric heat pump and a fossil generator, for space heating and DHW heating with optimized operation for different optimization goals (primary energy, CO2 emissions, investment cost, …)
  • An electric heat pump with a refrigerant circuit with reduced charge based on a natural refrigerant

 

Technology

Bivalent System

The main challenges posed by the installation of heat pumps in existing multi-family houses are the required high flow temperatures – specially to comply with health regulations with regard to domestic hot water –  and the limited availability of adapted heat sources in the surroundings.

A promising solution for the renovation consists in installing so-called bivalent (hybrid) systems in which an electric heat pump and a fossil power heat generator operate in parallel through a superior control system.

With this solution the heat pump (incl. source) must not be dimensioned for maximum performance and the heat generators can run more efficiently (for example with regard to the operating costs or primary energy consumption).

 

Bivalent temperatures and shares of the heat generators gas boiler and heat pump in covering the heat load under variation of use (renovated or non-renovated existing buildings) as well as the optimisation objectives (primary energy consumption, CO2 emissions and consumption costs); results of simplified, static calculations.

Heat pump with natural refrigerant

In order to meet the reduction in emissions of fluorinated greenhouse gases (F-gases) envisaged by the F-Gas Regulation (Regulation (EU) No. 517/2014), a heat pump based on natural, flammable refrigerants that is suitable for existing MFHs is being developed in parallel in a second part of the project. To minimize its hazard potential, the refrigeration circuit is among other things designed for a minimal charge using new evaporator concepts. A corresponding security concept is also being developed. In order to meet the high requirements for sound emissions in densely built-up urban areas, current developments in psychoacoustics are incorporated into the entire development.

Test stand for measuring refrigerant heat exchangers (evaporators and condensers) at Fraunhofer ISE

Work plan

Bivalent (hybrid) heat pump heating systems in the field of multi-family building renovation

  • Basics and state of the art
  • Simulation-based evaluation of different dimensioning and operating strategies for different system concepts
  • Controller development and implementation
  • Demonstration projects

Heat pump with natural refrigerant for use in multi-family buildings

  • Development of refrigerant-reduced evaporators and optimization of the freezing and defrosting strategy
  • Design of the refrigeration circuit
  • Technical evidence
  • Simulation-based assessment of device performance in the application context

Contact persons

 

Björn Nienborg, project manager   
Thermal systems and buildings
Fraunhofer ISE
Heidenhofstraße 2, 79110 Freiburg
+49 761 4588-5883
bjoern.nienborg@ise.fraunhofer.de

Dr. Bernd Bierling
Bosch Thermotechnik GmbH
Postfach 13 09, 73243 Wernau
Tel.: +49 7153 306-1673
Bernd.Bierling@de.bosch.com

Dr. Christian Glueck
Bosch Thermotechnik GmbH
Postfach 11 61, 35453 Lollar
+49 (0)6441 418-2340
Christian.Glueck2@de.bosch.com

Dr. Fabian Schmid
Robert Bosch GmbH
Renningen, 70465 Stuttgart
Tel.: +49 711 811-24215
Fabian.Schmid4@de.bosch.com

Downloads

Poster HTWP

HTWP – Bosch

Entwicklung von Wärmepumpenlösungen für Mehrfamiliengebäude

Förderkennzeichen: 03ET1377 A/B/C

Laufzeit: 01.01.2016 bis 30.11.2021

Projektpartner: Fraunhofer ISE, Bosch Thermotechnik, Robert Bosch GmbH

 

Ziele

Entwicklung von zwei Wärmepumpenlösungen für den Mehrfamilienhausbestand:

  • Ein bivalentes System, bestehend aus Elektrowärmepumpe und fossilem Erzeuger, zur Raumheizung und Trinkwassererwärmung mit optimierter Betriebsführung für unterschiedliche Optimierungsziele (Primärenergie, CO2-Emissionen, Investitionskosten, …)
  • Eine elektrische Wärmepumpe mit füllmengenreduziertem Kältekreis auf Basis eines natürlichen Kältemittels

 

Technologie

Bivalentes System

Für den Einsatz von Wärmepumpen in bestehenden Mehrfamilienhäusern (MFH) stellen die erforderlichen hohen Vorlauftemperaturen – insbesondere zur Einhaltung der Hygienevorschriften bei der Trinkwarmwasserbereitung – als auch die begrenzte Verfügbarkeit von geeigneten Umgebungs-wärmequellen beträchtliche Herausforderungen dar.

Eine vielversprechende Lösung für den Sanierungsfall besteht im Einsatz sogenannter bivalenter (hybrider) Systeme, in denen eine elektrisch angetriebene Wärmepumpe und ein fossil betriebener Wärmeerzeuger durch eine übergeordnete Regelung abgestimmt betrieben werden.

Durch diese Lösung muss die Wärmepumpe (inkl. Quelle) nicht auf die Maximalleistung dimensioniert werden und die Wärmeerzeuger können optimiert (beispielsweise in Bezug auf Betriebskosten oder auch Primärenergieeinsatz) betrieben werden.

 

Bivalenztemperaturen und Anteile der Wärmeerzeuger Gaskessel und Wärmepumpe an der Deckung der Heizlast unter Variation der Anwendung (sanierter bzw. unsanierter Bestand) sowie der Optimierungsziele (Primärenergieverbrauch, CO2-Emissionen und Verbrauchskosten); Ergebnisse vereinfachter, statischer Berechnungen.

Wärmepumpe mit natürlichem Kältemittel

Zur Erfüllung der mit der F-Gase-Verordnung (Verordnung (EU) Nr. 517/2014) anvisierten Reduktion der Emissionen fluorierter Treibhausgase (F-Gase) wird parallel in einem zweiten Vorhabensteil eine für Bestands-MFH geeignete Wärmepumpe auf Basis natürlicher, brennbarer Kältemittel entwickelt. Um dessen Gefährdungspotenzial zu minimieren, wird der Kältekreis u.a. mittels neuartiger Verdampferkonzepte auf eine minimale Füllmenge konzipiert. Daneben wird ein entsprechendes Sicherheitskonzept erarbeitet. Um den hohen Anforderungen an die Schallemissionen im dicht bebauten städtischen Raum zu genügen, fließen in die gesamte Entwicklung aktuelle Erkenntnissen der Psychoakustik ein.

Teststand zur Vermessung von kältemittelbeaufschlagten Wärmeübertragern (Verdampfer und Kondensatoren) am Fraunhofer ISE

 Arbeitsplan

Bivalente (Hybride) Wärmepumpenheizungsanlagen im Bereich der Mehrfamilienhaus-Sanierung

  • Grundlagen und Stand der Technik
  • Simulationsbasierte Bewertung unterschiedlicher Dimensionierungs- und Betriebsstrategien für unterschiedliche Systemkonzepte
  • Reglerentwicklung und Implementierung
  • Demonstrationsvorhaben

Wärmepumpe mit natürlichem Kältemittel für den Einsatz in Mehrfamilienhäusern

  • Entwicklung kältemittelreduzierter Verdampfer und Optimierung der Vereisungs- und Abtaustrategie
  • Auslegung des Kältekreises
  • Technischer Nachweis
  • Simulationsbasierte Bewertung der Geräteperformance im Anwendungskontex

Ansprechpartner

 

Björn Nienborg, Projektleiter   
Bereich Thermische Systeme und Gebäude
Fraunhofer-Institut für Solare Energiesysteme ISE
Heidenhofstraße 2, 79110 Freiburg
Telefon +49 761 4588-5883
bjoern.nienborg@ise.fraunhofer.de

Dr. Bernd Bierling
Bosch Thermotechnik GmbH
Postfach 13 09, 73243 Wernau
Tel.: +49 7153 306-1673
Bernd.Bierling@de.bosch.com

Dr. Christian Glueck
Bosch Thermotechnik GmbH
Postfach 11 61, 35453 Lollar
Tel.: +49 6441 418-2340
Christian.Glueck2@de.bosch.com

Dr. Fabian Schmid
Robert Bosch GmbH
Renningen, 70465 Stuttgart
Tel.: +49 711 811-24215
Fabian.Schmid4@de.bosch.com

Downloads

Poster HTWP